“Grow Up, Moon Boy” collection. #4

THE END: poem

(Written in 2010. Updated 2021.)

Lover Boy in Space

--

Looking at her I’m taken back to the millions of memories that we have, and smiling, I can’t help but think how fast the times have just gone and passed.

I remember the rain was pouring that day we met,
when I saw her shivering and soaking wet. That blushing face as I ripped my coat off and covered her, I could never forget.

By pure chance, our lives had been connected
and the flourishing love that followed, I'll admit, I never expected. Decadent moonlit dinners and countless romantic nights, staring deeply into her eyes, holding her tight. We've shared in the good times, along with the bad, yet nothing ever phased the bond we had.

Now, with her eyes staring back into mine,
I smile and jog this burdened mind back in time 
to our once pure, innocent joy and goofy games, and all of the sloppy kisses and cute nicknames. 
The perfect couple—all would say. 
A perfect love in every way, and it's a shame 
that now, after all this time, here we are saying
goodbye.

--

--

Lover Boy in Space

Joshua Muñoz. A spaced out astronaut who paints with poetry. Welcome to my world and thanks for reading. Follow me on TikTok | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify