(Photo by author.)

The sea and the sun: poem

Dedicated to my sun girl, Marisol.

Lover Boy in Space
1 min readMar 31, 2021

--

How appropriate it is to me that your name
should be
as beautiful and magnificent as your soul,
and how lovely the calm you bring to me,
like the tropical scene of sea and sun that your name's
seven letters equal

Like a perpetual dream, it all still feels,
how you found me, and I you
as if these two infinitely random paths of ours
were actually drawn before began the universe itself

Through the frost and flurry, darkness and despair,
for so long, I pulled and pulled and pulled on this
volatile cosmic string,
wading waist-deep into the colorful, cloudy unknown,
my ravaged mind at war for peace, blindly and
faithfully believing every moment is a moment
meant to be, reminding myself again and again
that even were I not to take the road I’d hoped, everything happens for a reason
— happiness would be my destination

--

--

Lover Boy in Space

Joshua Muñoz. A spaced out astronaut who paints with poetry. Welcome to my world and thanks for reading. Follow me on TikTok | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify